Sofie Cecilia doc à Hardcover

kindle Sofie Cecilia

Sofie Cecilia doc à Hardcover ´ [Download] ➾ Sofie Cecilia ➹ Katherine Ashenburg – Horticulturetrader.co.uk A surprising rich and beautiful first novel about women's friendship for readers of Paula McLain and Elena Ferrante by a bestselling non fiction author who has brilliantly turned her hand to fiction I A surprising rich andA surprising rich and beautiful first novel about women's friendship for readers of Paula McLain and Elena Ferrante by a bestselling non fiction author who has brilliantly turned her hand to fiction In Sofie Cecilia beloved non fiction author and journalist Katherine Ashenburg draws upon her formidable skill and maturity as a writer to craft an extraordinary and splendid debut novel This is the story of a lifelong female friendship set in the fascinating art world of Sweden between 1900 and 1940 just as modern art and the beginnings of the Scandinavian mid c Why do people grow these cruel things? she complainedFor their beauty Cecilia said This was such a wonderful book It reminded me of Eva Stachniak's THE CHOSEN MAIDEN which I also loved Ashenburg expertly weaves a story of love friendship yearning and art in early 20th century Sweden No this is not a high speed plot But the magic here is in the atmosphere The first half of the novel is from Sofie's perspective and everything from her Askebo house to her art projects were vividly conjured Sofie was far from a perfect character; her passiveness in regards to Nils and her evasiveness were borderline irritating but weirdly enough I appreciated it It make her feel real and added another layer of conflict to the plot The second half belonged to Cecilia The clever part of this structure enabled Ashenburg to show us each woman through another's eyes so we can unravel some of their POV bias However the loop did slow the plot down and make it feel slightly repetitious I enjoyed Cecilia's portion too and found her to be an extremely sympathetic character Ashenburg's real strength was how she used the lives of these women to explore so many issues The double standards of men and women was one of the obvious ones But she also touched on childlessness loss infidelity sexuality xenophobia and nationalism among others Nobody was perfect but nobody was wholly unlikeable I won't attempt to spell out all the messages and intricate subplots but trust me this is one you'll want to read It was complex the prose was gorgeous and a great note to end my reading year onI received this book through a Goodreads Giveaway

Katherine Ashenburg Ý Sofie Cecilia kindle

Entury modern design movement were inspiring a creative revolution across northern Europe Loosely based on the lives of celebrated artists Carl Larsson and Anders Zorn Nils Olsson and Lars Vogt in the novel Ashenburg transports us behind both the public and domestic scenes and canvasses of these larger than life men to reveal the lesser known but eually astounding and rich stories of the women who married them restlessly creative artist in her own right Sofie Olsson and fiercely private and intelligent curator Cecilia Vogt Here is a gorgeous gem of a book su I met Katherine Ashenburg earlier this Spring at an author event I had no idea what kind of book this was even to hear her talk about it It is a work of literary fictionthe setting is Sweden in the late 19th century and into the 20th century Ashenburg has researched 2 well known Swedish artists Carl Larsson Anders Zorn and the world of art and every bit of minutia that is part of art She has weaved a work of fiction around these 2 men from the perspectives of their wives Sofie and Cecilia who became close friendsThe women themselves were artists as well but when they married they were expected to give up their painting and take up embroidery and other such things It was a man's role to be the painter The book explores in detail the way the women responded to their roles which was very interestingThe amount of research that had to have gone into writing this book is staggering to me There is so much discussion of art and styles it bogged me down a bit

kindle Û Sofie Cecilia Ý Katherine Ashenburg

Sofie CeciliaRprising uniue layered with insight into the nuances of female friendship as it stretches changes and deepens in unexpected ways over a lifetime Woven effortlessly through this tapestry like a beautiful motif is absorbing detail about Scandinavian painting design and textile work; European history and sexual politics; the country life city salons vibrant art and folklore of Sweden; and the secrets and challenges of bright talented women juggling marriage career individual aspirations and family life inside an artist's household in the early twentieth century A lovely read about two women in the artistic community of Sweden last century loosely based on real people and events I read this because my sister bought it at a literary event and loaned it to me I might not have otherwise read it and I am glad I did Although not a fast paced plot as the goodreads write up says it reveals the pre feminist pressures and secrets of marriage career and family These two women have a friendship which includes reading and discussing the novels of their time and how their lives are or are not reflected in the lives of the heroines of these novels For example when one of the women falls in love with another woman and has no framework with which to understand this experience A lovely book that prompts reflections on literature art feminism and the lives of women